Americans are killing themselves

Kelly Renee' Baker
5 min readJan 25, 2021

--

Unnecessary stats on Americans

In America, over 22 percent of the population has an illicit drug problem; one out of ten take antidepressants; 26 percent of kids are on stimulants…And prescription drugs? They’ve just surpassed car accidents as the number on cause of accidental death. Add this up and you’ll find a trillion-dollar public-health crisis. In other words, Americans are literally killing themselves to achieve artificially the same sensations that flow produces naturally. Of course, as a perfect endogenous combination of these drugs, flow is also a major rush. But unlike the dead-end highs currently plaguing public health, flow doesn’t sidetrack one’s life; it revitalizes it. Flow is the rush of possibility. (The Rise of Superman by Steven Kolter)

Those stats scare me. They scare me as a mom, as a Christian, as an American and as a human. I’m not one to live in fear, but those stats quickly turn my attention to my Heavenly Father. I pray for an awakening.

Those stats are completely unnecessary on so many levels, but the biggest is God already created us with the neurochemicals we need to “feel good.” We don’t need illicit drugs and other substances to make us feel better.

Transparency

I will tell you right now, I take medication for anxiety/depression. I believe whole heartedly my body produces all the chemicals I need to avoid and/or fight the anxiety I experience. Let’s face it though, our bodies can get out of “whack” sometimes. I took this medication in the past, got off of it for two or three years and then the anxiety came back with a vengeance.

Thankfully, I don’t believe I will need this medication forever. With that said, I don’t plan to get off of it any time soon. It is okay to take medication, prescribed to you, in the appropriate amount, for the appropriate time for the reason prescribed. Our neurochemicals are altered when we introduce other substances into our bodies. Certain chemicals are addictive. Sadly, some doctors continue to prescribe these addictive chemicals for too long or sometimes the drugs find their way into the wrong hands.

The more I learn about my brain, the power I have over my brain and the capabilities of my brain, I am sure I will attempt to get off my meds in the future, with my doctors help. That’s me. I am not, nor would I EVER shame anyone for caring for their mental health. It just impresses me that my body is capable of producing all the neurochemicals I need. I don’t abuse the prescribed drug I do take either so that is also a big factor in what I am sharing today.

No substitute for the real thing

So why am I even sharing this? Because most people who get addicted to chemicals or use illegal drugs in the first place is to get into “flow” or a flow-like state. The truth is what these substances produce, compared to what our bodies produce naturally, are much less effective. Not only that, these artificial drugs carry serious consequences. They may replicate flow states, but there is no substitute for the real thing.

The anti-depressant/anxiety med I take is a substitute for serotonin. As I said, I am discovering there are ways I can naturally produce what I need in my body. I am changing my habits to work toward some day not taking the meds as long as my doctor believes that is the best path for me. The key element here is doctor.

I am NOT a doctor. I am not giving you medical advice. I am sharing what I have learned and my experiences, as well as proven stats on our society to bring a wake up call.

I want everyone to know that God created each of us with everything we need to deal with life. God knew there would be struggles for us. As I have shared before, too often we want to escape challenges in life, rather than face them. To get into flow, there must be a struggle, so we may as well use it to our advantage.

God blessed each of us with all we need to live out our dreams. It is up to us to engage the neurochemicals He gave us so we can get into flow and create the way He intended. It is time we maximize what God has already given us instead of using less effective alternatives that carry serious consequences.

“The moment it becomes a little too difficult, most people step away. Ironically, that’s just the moment you need to step into it. God equipped your brain with everything you need — in this case, neurochemicals. If you want the chemicals, then you need the challenge.

Norepinephrine: Increased heart rate, emotional control, attention

Dopamine: Superhuman focus, pattern recognition, skill-enhancing abilities

Endorphins: Augmented lateral thinking

Anandamide: Power to link contrasting ideas together

Serotonin: Ability to withstand discomfort and stay on task in spite of pain” Kary Oberbrunner, author of Unhackable

Unhackable by Kary Oberbrunner

I am not a substance abuse counselor or counselor of any kind. I am a transformation and success coach. If you are in a place where you need addiction help PLEASE reach out. I will gladly help you find the right counselor or program right for you. Email me directly at: queenbee@kellyreneebaker.com

For those ready and willing to be coached to better engage what you already have within you I am here for you. I am excited to join you as a guide on your journey. You too can email me directly at: queenbee@kellyreneebaker.com I look forward to hearing from you.

Bee High on Life and life alone, so you can live as a victorious champion for Christ.

Love,

Kelly

Queen Bee at Kelly Renee’ Baker LLC., Transformation and Success Coach, Certified Unhackable Coach, Certified Deeper Path Coach, Founding Partner at the John Maxwell Team — Certified Coach, Trainer and Speaker, Author of Defeating Your Greatest Opponent

--

--